Miscellaneous

I’ve sucked lately, and I’m sorry.

When I first started this blog, I was posting daily. Words were pouring out of me and I was genuinely excited about sharing everything I knew about marketing with small business owners who were looking for new ways to build their businesses. 6 months later, that excitement hasn’t faded but my discipline definitely has and for that I’m sorry.

It may seem silly for me to apologize, as my blog doesn’t have thousands of loyal fans (yet!), but I am apologizing because I know there are a few of you out there who have been kind enough to email me asking about the silence. Thank you for spurring me to action!

The truth is I’ve spent the last few months focused on building my clients’ businesses that I put my own projects on the backburner. Ironically, this reduction in focus is the exact opposite of my advice to every single one of my clients. Funny how we rarely practice what we preach.

My struggle has been time management, and after reading Gary Keller’s “The One Thing” I’ve decided to institute his time blocking methodology. Once a week I’m going to block a few hours to work on my blog and nothing but my blog. No email interruptions, no attending to clients, no nothing. Hopefully this will get me back on track and ignite the spark again.

Watch this space (and if it’s blank, blast me!).

Share Your Thoughts!